Broken Bells

Jay Mercer front-man and lyricist for “the Shins” teams up with Danger Mouse of “Gnarls Barkley” for an blah blah blah(just listen to the song). I was able to get my hands on the album which will be released on March 9th of 2010 and it is excellent. Mercer, in my opinion, is one of the best lyricist around. His epically sweet and self-deprecating lyrics inspire sympathy and awe simultaneously such as these lines from “Pink Bullet” off 2003’s Chutes too Narrow: “since then it’s been a book, you read in reverse, so understand less as the pages turn, or a movie so crass, and awkwardly cast, that even I could have been the star”. I could pretty much quote the entire album as it was all I listened to for the entire year of 2004. Here’s a little taste. Let me know what YOU think it sounds like.

Track 1: The High Road

Go down to wait all night
She’s bound to run him out
The rest of the nothing of any how
To each his own
The garden is sorting out
She curls her lips on a bar
I don’t know if you’re dead or not
If you’re anyone

Come on and get the minimum
Before you open up your eyes
It’s all being served in your hands
Your addled eyes
Come on and get to open yours
Collected at the borderlines
They want to get up in your hair

[Chorus]
Cause they know, so do I
The high road is hard to find
A detour in your new life
Tell all of your friends getting warm

The dogs who ran all night
The son who hoped it would
Break from the warfare in your house
To each his own
The soldier is bailing out
And curled his lips on a bar
And I don’t know if the dead can talk
To anyone

Come on and get the minimum
Before you open up your eyes
It’s all being served in your hands
Are you one of us
Come on and get to open yours
Collected at the borderlines
They want to get up in your hair

[Chorus]
cause they know, so do I
The high road is hard to find
A detour in your new life
Tell all of your friends getting warm

It’s too late to change your mind
You let laws be your guide
(repeat)

Track 2: Vaporize

What amounts to a dream anymore?
A crude device; A veil on our eyes
A simple plan we’d be different from the rest
And never resign to a typical life

Common fears start to multiply
We realize we’re paralyzed
Where’d it go, All that precious time?
Did we even try to stem the tide?

Why should we waste it on
Buying into the same old lies?
The longer we wait around
The faster the years go by

It’s not too late
To feel a little more alive
Make an escape
Before we start to vaporize

Doubtless, we’ve been through this
So if you want to follow me you should know
I was lost then and I am lost now
And I doubt I’ll ever know which way to go

3 Responses to Broken Bells

  1. I’m not sure what it sounds like, but it definitely sounds loads better than the last Shins album. Thanks for posting. I am definitely picking this one up.

    • Alex LaPointe says:

      Mercer basically fired the Shins a few years ago. He didn’t really need them anyway. From what I understand. He hole’s himself up for two years straight, writes all the songs and then teaches the parts to the band so basically they’re like a studio band. I hear there is a new Shins album in the works. Also, if you like the Shins, check out the band Mercer was in before the Shins called “Flake Music” the audio quality is lacking but it’s a really good album with a song called “the Shins”.

  2. flipyrface says:

    the high road reminds me a bit of the beta band, which is a good thing.

