The King is 75

Today would be the 75th birthday of Elvis Aaron Presley.  There have been plenty of things said about “the King of Rock and Roll”, but his stage presence and showmanship are pretty undeniable.  When I was a kid, my Dad kept a steady rotation of Kenny Rogers, the Beach Boys, and of course Elvis pumping through the 8-track player in his ’77 Cadillac (no lie).  As I’m writing this, I’m visiting my family at their home in Louisiana.  As I walked in the front door, I was greeted by Elvis performing this southern anthem during his 1970 Vegas performance in the documentary “Elvis: That’s the Way It Is”.  The song, Polk Salad Annie, written by Tony Joe White, was set less than 30 miles from where I am right now.  My Dad, a die-hard Elvis fan, had never seen Elvis perform this song until now.

If you read this tonight, head over to TCM as they’re having an Elvis marathon.

Comments are closed.

