Shuffle Mania! Silly Facebook Games

So an old friend from my high school days tagged me with this over at Facebook. It’s silly, but I really enjoyed it. I almost never use shuffle play, as I’m an “album guy.” Turning the shuffle play on made me wish I used it more often. When you have as much music as I do, inevitably there’s some stuff that you haven’t listened to in years, and when you’re an attempted critic, you tend to focus on recent material so that you can write your review.  This reminded me that I have a lot of great music on my hard drive (the 17,000 songs I mention below is not an exaggeration), and need to dig deeper than I have lately.

The reason I’m sharing this (other than needing some filler) is that I think it does a pretty good job of showing you where I’m coming from. This is useful information when making purchasing decisions based on reviews. For example, I know Roger Ebert overpraises movies with flashy visuals or far-left political leanings, and I take that into account when trying to figure out whether or not I’m going to spend money on a movie he has praised. This will give you some insight into my musical tastes, and you can take it into account when reading my reviews.

Shuffle Mania!

Once you’ve been tagged… (1) Turn on your MP3 player or the music application on your computer (iTunes, Media Player). (2) Go to SHUFFLE songs mode. (3) Write down the first 30 songs that come up–song title and artist–NO editing/cheating, please. (4) Choose 25 (or so) people to be tagged. It is generally considered to be in good taste to tag the person who tagged you.

If I tagged you, it’s because I want to know more about your musical tastes, or at least a random sampling thereof.

(To do this, go to “NOTES” under tabs on your profile page, paste these instructions in the body of the note, enter your 30 Shuffle Songs, Click ‘Preview’ below to tag 25 people (in the right hand corner of the app) then click Publish, the little blue box at the bottom of your screen.

My list:

  1. “Terminal Show” – Motörhead (A fitting beginning!)
  2. “This is Pop” – XTC
  3. “I Can’t Control Myself” – The Troggs (I have lots of bad Troggs songs but I got a good one! Way to go, randomizer!)
  4. “Do it Again” – The Kinks (Out of all the Kinks songs you could have played, you give me this one?)
  5. “Bridge Over Troubled Waters” – Elvis Presley
  6. “Scarlet Pussy” – Prince (This is not a good song.)
  7. “Midnight Man” – Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds
  8. “Out of Blue” – James Luther Dickinson (Am I the only person in the world with this album?)
  9. “Jayne’s Blue Wish” – Tom Waits
  10. “Dig, Lazarus, Dig” – Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds (WTF? How much randomness is actually in the Windows Media Player randomizer? I have 17,000 songs on my hard drive and I get two from the same album?)
  11. “New Sunshine” – Freedy Johnston (I’ve been meaning to write a piece on how incredible this nearly-unknown album is.)
  12. “Over the Next Hill (We’ll Be Home)” – Johnny Cash
  13. “She Told Me Lies” – Chesterfield Kings
  14. “The Man in the Santa Suit” – Fountains of Wayne (A B-side, and rightfully so.)
  15. “Scarecrow” – Pink Floyd (Haven’t heard this one in awhile!)
  16. “Emotion” – Bee Gees (This list would not have been right without the Bee Gees.)
  17. “Silent Night” – Emmylou Harris (Out of season, but lovely. What’s with all the Christmas songs? I swear I don’t have that many.)
  18. “Spike Driver Blues” – Mississippi John Hurt (From the Anthology of American Folk Music.)
  19. “Mirror of Your Mind” – We the People (Nuggets!)
  20. “I See Monsters” – Ryan Adams
  21. “Fresh is the Word” – Mantronix
  22. “Fox on the Run” – The Sweet (Oh, hell yeah!)
  23. “Lost” – Adam Schmitt (Unjustly obscure artist. Been meaning to write about him, too. Not my favorite song, though.)
  24. “Look On Up at the Bottom” – The Carrie Nations (Awesome! This is from the soundtrack to Beyond the Valley of the Dolls. I have a framed original poster on my living room wall! No, that doesn’t make me weird.)
  25. “Groove to the Eye” – The Psychotic Turnbuckles (Great band-name/song-name combo right there…)
  26. “Only to Other People” – The Cookies (A girl group number. The Detroit Cobras have covered it. I haven’t heard their version, but I’d like to.)
  27. “Los Angeles” – X (Double hell yeah!)
  28. “Going Nowhere” – Los Bravos (More Nuggets stuff. I have a lot of it.)
  29. “Eazy-Duz-It” – Eazy-E
  30. “Woman 2 Woman” – Urge Overkill (Not a bad way to end!)

So there ya go. As a glimpse of my music tastes, not bad at all. Not enough country, and many of my favorite artists weren’t represented, but that’s nitpicking.

I think the randomizer knew that its job was to provide you with a snapshot of my taste in music. My evidence for this is that it opened with Motörhead.

The Troggs – “I Can’t Control Myself”

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to Ma.gnoliaAdd to TechnoratiAdd to FurlAdd to Newsvine

One Response to Shuffle Mania! Silly Facebook Games

  1. Mine opened with the Pixies, so I think you’re right about the randomizer. Or it could be that I have a billion Pixies songs in my iTunes. One or the other.

