“Seven Nation Army” by the Oak Ridge Boys

Older artists try to resuscitate their careers by recording material by more current artists all the time. Often the result is little more than a novelty song–think Tom Jones’ version of Prince’s “Kiss.” But on occasion, it works like crazy–think several late Johnny Cash songs.

It is with a great deal of surprise that I report to you that the Oak Ridge Boys’ cover of the White Stripes “Seven Nation Army” is much closer to the latter category than the former. It took me a couple of listens to get over the shock, but once I did, I really came to like it. The pounding piano is an excellent addition, and the chanted “bom bom boms” give it an appropriate air of menace. This should garner their comeback effort some attention. Nicely done.

7 Responses to “Seven Nation Army” by the Oak Ridge Boys

  1. John says:

    I couldnt agree more. This cover rocks. The Oaks are still relevant and hopefully this will get them back on the charts where they belong. Thanks for the positive blog!!!

  2. Debbie M. says:

    It took me a couple of listens to get over the shock as well, but I love it! If you think 7NA grabs your attention, wait ’til you hear “Boom, Boom, Boom.” Enjoyed your blog!!

  3. D says:

    I totally disagree with this. The 3rd verse sounds like Kermit the Frog is singing.

  4. I agree with D. This just sounds to me like another gimmicky cover that no one will remember six months from now. Johnny Cash they are not. However, I will say that the drummer on this version is about a thousand more times talented than Meg White.

    May I also add, oom-papa oom-papa oom-papa mow mow.

  5. I can’t talk anyone into liking a song he doesn’t like, but I think the piano is great, and as I alluded to in the write-up, to me this sounds appropriately apocalyptic. Your mileage may vary.

    This disagreement aside, I will always raise a glass to “papa-oom-mow-mow.”

  6. Uncle Syd says:

    D what’s up with hating on Kermit the Frog? He does a terrific job singing on “Rainbow Connection”. Maybe he will cover 7AN next.

  7. Not to mention that it sounds nothing like Kermit the Frog. Fozzy Bear, maybe. But not Kermit.

    Also, “Rainbow Connection” is dope. Perhaps the White Stripes should cover it.

