My Wedding Dance Song

So it’s done.  Over.  Finito.  I am officially a married man (sorry, ladies!), and the wedding was a pretty darned good time, if I do say so myself.  One thing that was very difficult for me was picking out a song for the dreaded first dance with my new bride in front of family and friends.  I even wrote a post several months back looking for suggestions for a good song.  Gordon was the only one who responded with a good but not very danceable Johnny Cash song, so I was forced to continue the search on my own.

I was looking for something unconventional and different.  Basically, I didn’t want to dance to a crappy country song or a tired old standard that we’ve all heard a thousand times before.  The toughest part is that I hate cheese, and my music collection is largely devoid of love songs.  I combed through some of my favorite Motown hits (Stevie, Smokey, Marvin), the Beach Boys, Ray Lamontagne, Jack Johnson, and nothing seemed to fit.  Too cheesy.

Then I stumbled upon a song by Ben Folds, whom I have never been a big fan of, and it really seemed to work for me.  Yes, it’s absolutely cheesy, but the lyrics really related to some strong feelings that my new bride and I share about each other, so after much arguing, deliberating, more arguing, wine, beer, and yet more arguing, we settled on this one.  It’s a pretty, simple, and meaningful pop tune, and it communicates one simple truth:  she makes me feel like the luckiest man on earth.   And she doesn’t even read this blog, so I’m not just kissing her ass!

Ben Folds – “The Luckiest”

P.S.  One song I really love is “This Will Be Our Year” by The Zombies, and that one was considered, but it was a little bouncier than what I was looking for.  I did use the song for a slide show at the rehearsal dinner though.  God, what a great song!

The Zombies – “This Will Be Our Year”

Comments are closed.

