American Idol Power Rankings: 4/14/09

Idol LogoWhat a terrible show tonight’s was. It flipped-flopped constantly between mediocre and bad, and it was a chore to get through. I kept hoping for a pleasant surprise and the closest I got was Kris Allen (I expect excellence from Adam at this point, so that wasn’t a surprise).

For the first time this season, my rankings haven’t changed from the previous week.

  1. Adam Lambert. Head and shoulders above everyone.
  2. I flirted with dropping Allison Iraheta to number three, but I’m not quite there yet. She needs to be much better next week if she survives.
  3. Kris Allen continues to surprise. He has been the most consistent performer other than Adam.
  4. Anoop Desai will never attempt another uptempo number again.
  5. Danny Gokey was wretched tonight, and he’s much too inconsistent to warrant the praises heaped upon him and the votes he gets.
  6. Matt Giraud. At this point, I’m starting to think that his couple of good performances were “even a broken clock is right twice a day” sorts of occurrences.
  7. Lil Rounds will not be forgiven for defiling “The Rose.”

I will update this post with Former Housemate Mike’s rankings when I get them.

Update: Here they are.

Not very elaborate this week, as I am under the weather.

  1. Adam Lambert. Really blew me away this week.
  2. Allison Iraheta. Wasn’t a fan this week but still good.
  3. Danny Gokey. Boring again this week, but still solid.
  4. Anoop Desai. Really good this week. Hope he sticks around for the first time this year.
  5. Kris Allen. The best song choice of the week. The first time he’s really been likable in my view.
  6. Matt Giraud. Worst of the night by far. I think he’s very vulnerable this week.
  7. Lil Rounds. Please let this end. Please.
Comments are closed.

