Awesome Covers Corner: The Walkmen – “Crying”

Okay, sorry to be a bit misleading with the headline, but this cover does not actually exist to my knowledge.  I think music blogging is getting to my head.  Allow me to explain.  I have been a little under the weather for the last few days, and sleep has been fitful at best.  What sleep I have been getting has been plagued by a couple of really strange dreams.  The best/worst of these dreams came last night.

I woke up around 3:30 am last night in a bout of nausea.  It passed after a few minutes, but not quickly enough for me not to make a mad dash to the toilet for fear of blowing chunks all over my bed.  It was sometime after my return to bed that I had a very vivid dream that I really wish was actual reality.  In the dream, I was watching a variation of one of those “VH1: Behind The Music” shows.  The subject of this episode was Roy Orbison.  Now, I am a huge fan of Roy Orbison.  In my opinion, he had the greatest voice ever in the history of rock ‘n’ roll, and I will not be swayed from that opinion, so don’t even try.

Anyway, I guess in my dream we were nearing the end of the Roy Orbison episode, and the narrator was talking about Orbison’s influence on the current generation of rock stars, and they cut to a live performance of The Walkmen performing the Orbison classic “Crying.”  It was incredible.  My dream self was thinking, “Why in God’s green earth have I never even thought of posting this on the blog?  This has to be the greatest cover ever performed!”

If you are not familiar with the NYC by way of Washington, D.C. band The Walkmen, you are missing out on some greatness.  I had not listened to their 2008 album You & Me until after I had already compiled my best of 2008 list, but if I had heard it earlier, it would have definitely made the top of the list. 

Interestingly enough, I know the root of this dream.  In listening to a couple of tracks on You & Me, particularly “Red Moon” and “Canadian Girl,” I distinctly remember thinking that I detected a Roy Orbison vibe.  The band members themselves would probably laugh at me if I told them that, but in my head, it is there and undeniable.  Once again, don’t even try to convince me otherwise.

So anyway, as I was taking a shower this morning, I had a minor little battle in my head over whether I had actually seen this on TV or if it was all some fabulous dream.  I knew it wasn’t real, but the dream was so vivid!  Oh well.

So, if any member of The Walkmen or one of their buddies/representatives/groupies/hangers-on ever happens to read this, please, make my fucked up, sickness-induced hallucination a reality.  Cover “Crying” by Roy Orbison.  You know you want to. 

Roy Orbison – “Crying”

The Walkmen – “Canadian Girl”

Comments are closed.

