American Idol, 2009 – Episode 20 (3/11/09)

Idol LogoThe first results show of the top twelve, ur, thirteen! Plus we have the special secret format change the judges promised last night to make things  more interesting.

There were a lot of good performances last night, so I’m a bit worried someone worthy is going to be left in the dust.

Here are my predictions:

Who Should Go Home

Jorge Nuñez. He’s proven he can do better, but his showing last night was a snooze-fest on a night with a lot of good performances.

Megan Corkrey. She was just plain awful. Other than because she’s fairly attractive, I don’t know why the judges keep pushing her. Last night demonstrated conclusively that they were wrong to do so.

Who Will Go Home

Jasmine Murray. With the “black girl” slot covered by Lil, and the “young girl” slot covered by Allison, both of whom were/are infinitely superior, I don’t see how she sticks around.

Megan Corkrey. With all of the other females doing well, there is simply no reason for her to continue.

Live blogging (and spoilers) below the fold once the show starts at 8:00 Central.

If Allison goes home, I may have to kick America's ass.

If Allison goes home, I may have to kick America's ass.

I have to say, for the first time since this season started, I’m nervous. Allison is not the sort of singer who wins American Idol, at least not to date, but she’s made a big fan out of me. The finals is too much to ask, but based on what we’ve seen so far, she deserves to make the top six so she has a real shot at a career in music. Or maybe I shouldn’t write that–the Powers That Be might just ruin her like they did Fantasia. I would hate to hear her doing the equivalent of “The Baby Mama Song” or whatever the hell that travesty was.

Anyway, go Allison!

Kanye West is going to be on the show? That makes complete sense. When I think “great singing,” I think “Kanye West.”

At least Kelly Clarkson will also be on, although I don’t like her new single all that much.

And here is the new rule–up until the top five, the judges can save one contestant if they vote on it unanimously. They can only do it once, and the following week two will be eliminated. I like that change.

Ryan: “After seeing their new digs, no one will want to leave.” Well, maybe they would if they were trapped in there with Tatiana…

Here comes the group number–Jackson 5 hits. It sounds like they’re all in a tunnel. This is gay even by Adam Lambert standards.  They do a pretty good job of keeping Blind Scott off camera or moving him around to the appropriate places.

I won’t describe the horrors of the Carrie Underwood commercial I just saw. Just make sure you fast-forward if you’re using a DVR.

And here’s their new “don’t fast-forward through the commercials” clip. Some super-effeminate guy Nathaniel Marshall singing “Proud Mary.” Sound tempting? I thought not.

Someone should have done “Say Say Say” last night. OK, technically it’s a Paul McCartney song, but still.

Last night montage: My goodness, Megan Corkrey was awful.

Oh, no! The Ford video is back! Why couldn’t they have taken bailout money so Nancy Pelosi could look down her nose at them and tell them they couldn’t advertise?

Michael Sarver–Safe!

Allison Iraheta–Oh, please, please, please be safe.

Safe! There is a God!

Jasmine Murray–Gets stuck on stage for awhile.

Matt Giraud–Safe!

Kris Allen–Safe!

Megan Corkrey joins Jasmine in the middle. This means one of my predictions was wrong and one was right, as I said they were both going home.

Jasmine is gone! And the judges are not going to save her. They’ll save that for when one their pets gets eliminated.

And they don’t save her. Did anyone think they would use their new toy on the first episode where they have it?

What do you think of Carrie Underwood’s version of Motley Crue’s “Home Sweet Home”? I hope you like it, because you’re going to hear it at least ten more times this year.

Kanye West performs “Heartless.” Auto tune! Hooray!

Scott MacIntyre–Safe!

Alexis Grace–Safe!

Danny Gokey–Safe!

Anoop “Noop Dogg” Desai–Center stage.

Adam Lambert has quite the female following, based on the crowd noises. Ladies, he’s not into you. He’s also safe.

Jorge Nuñez and Lil Rounds–Lil Rounds is safe, and Jorge goes to the center of the stage.

So it’s Jorge or Noop Dogg. We’ll find out after Kelly Clarkson’s number.

I’m quite fond of Kelly, and don’t mind that she’s a bit chubby. The fake Kelly on the album cover flashed behind her doesn’t do her any favors, though, contrasted as it is with the real Kelly. Just be you, girl–don’t let them airbrush you.

“My Life Would Suck Without You,” AKA “Since U Been Gone, Part 2.” She’s a wonderful singer, but she needs to pick her material better. It’s not horrible, but it’s not nearly as good as the best of Breakaway. The sound also doesn’t seem fresh like it did a few years ago, although I could easily forgive that if the song was better, because I’m a sucker for that big pop-rock hybrid thing when it’s done well.

Back to the Anoop/Jorge face-off.

Jorge is gone! I can’t complain about that after last night.

And that’s it for this week. They even almost ended on time for once. See you next week!

2 Responses to American Idol, 2009 – Episode 20 (3/11/09)

  1. I had the bottom 3 right, but Jasmine went home instead of Anoop. So close!

  2. I wasn’t right, but I also wasn’t shocked.

    I did call Jasmine right, and likely for the right reasons (demographics). I was also glad to see Megan on the hot seat–I’m assuming getting called out means she was #4. I may not have to put up with her for too much longer.

    At least Megan sticking around gave the Vote for the Worst crowd something to be happy about. They were pretty broken up about Tatiana, but it only took a couple of cries of “Caw!” to revive their spirits.

