American Idol, 2009 – Episode 15 (2/26/09)

Idol LogoResults show for group two!

Who Should Advance

  • Allison Iraheta. A powerful performance of a tough song (“Alone” by Heart) and a nice surprise since the producers didn’t feel that she was important enough to mention hardly at all during the earlier episodes.
  • Adam Lambert. The “Satisfaction” camp-o-rama was an arresting performance, made extra-memorable by being slotted last, always a big advantage with the voters.
  • Jesse Langseth. I’m torn between her and Mishavonna Henson, and might change my mind if I watched both performances again, but it doesn’t much matter because neither are going through.

Who Will Advance

  • Allison Iraheta. The performance was a knockout and the judges didn’t say one bad thing about it.
  • Adam Lambert. They were almost as enthusiastic about this one.
  • Megan Corkrey. I do not understand the judges’ obsession with this girl, but their ill-placed but fulsome praise will likely be enough to brainwash the public into advancing her.

Let’s see how I do. Spoilers below the fold, of course.

Has anyone gone to see “Idols on Tour”? You wouldn’t catch me dead at one of those things, but I imagine it as two hours of this awful version Ne-Yo’s “Closer.” Time to leave the room for a few moments.

Thank goodness that’s over and I’m on to something more entertaining, like commercials.

Not much worth mentioning in the bad banter. Let’s get to the results.

Allison Iraheta, Jesse Langseth, and Matt Breitzke: This automatically means I don’t get my wish, because I wanted both Allison and Jesse to go through.

Allison–through! Well the public got that much right. Sorry to see Jesse gone, with little hope for a wild card. I doubt very seriously my backup pick of Mishavonna is going through. Damn it.

Allison nails “Alone” again. I’ve gone from not knowing a thing about her to liking her a lot.

Megan Corkrey, Kris Allen, Matt Giraud, and Jeanine Vailes: One is through, although none of them should be.

Jeanine–gone! No shocker there. She was terrible.

Matt–gone! Possible wild card contender there. I don’t think he should be, but they like him.

Kris–through! That’s a shocker! That means Megan will almost certainly be a wild card. Sorry, Matt! I had barely finished typing when your hopes and dreams died before my very eyes.

And Kris is back with his terrible version of “Man in the Mirror.” Fido Augustus is barking at the screen. If I was a dog, I would be, too. Lame! Why did people like this?

Idol retrospective set to “A Wonderful World”: Hey, I forgot about the three cowboys! And those guys who went to jail! And the ponyhawk!

Brooke White: Back to debut her new song. Cool! She’s impossible not to like, I hope she doesn’t screw this up.

“Hold Up My Heart” is the name of the new single. She’s got such a wonderfully warm, full voice. This is a very pleasant bit of popcraft. Best of luck, Brooke!

Mishavonna, Kai, Nick, Adam, and Jasmine:

Mishavonna, Kai, and Jasmine–gone!

Nick–gone! Thank you thank you thank you!

So Adam is through, which is how it should be. He was the best male performer last night, easy.

That covers it. See you next week!

2 Responses to American Idol, 2009 – Episode 15 (2/26/09)

  1. yes, Kris also a shocker for me. I thought it would be Nick.

  2. denniz says:

    I’m absolutely very happy kris go through.Got the face,voice n personality.Three of the jugdes praised him.He is a dark horse too.Alisson n Adam just the best.I think 6 finalist that went through had great personality,talented,charming n off course lucky.Can’t wait to see another 6 finalist.U knew what i hate Megan.She’s just made the song sounds badly.Oops sorry.

