New Music: U2 – “Get On Your Boots (Sexy Boots)”

I was listening to the radio yesterday, and I heard this song from U2’s upcoming album, No Line on the Horizon, due out on 3/3/09.  I vaguely remembered hearing some buzz and excitement about how this upcoming album was highly anticipated due to its “experimental” rock sound.  I will confess that I haven’t purchased a U2 album since Achtung Baby, so most U2 news doesn’t really stick with me.  For the last ten years, it seems Bono’s highly publicized humanitarian efforts have been the major attention-getter, with the music of the band taking a backseat.

After hearing this first single, I have to say that history will not change, as there is no chance I will be buying this record.  I have nothing really positive to say about the song and it’s obvious and well-worn message about sex and violence.  Every time Bono says the words “sexy boots,” it makes me want to punch something.  Musically, this songs sounds like something that came out in the mid-90’s.  That’s not exactly what I would call “experimental. ”  Overall, the song is incredibly forgettable, for which I am thankful, as I hope to forget about it as soon as I submit this post.

3 Responses to New Music: U2 – “Get On Your Boots (Sexy Boots)”

  1. It’s funny–I heard this song on the radio for the second time today and was going to write a post myself about how mediocre it is. It might be acceptable as an album track (being generous), but as a lead-off single?

    Post Achtung, Zooropa is a fine and underrated album. It is actually somewhat experimental, and by and large it works. I have the feeling the “experimental” part is both why a lot U2 fans hate it and why I really like it.

    All That I Can’t Leave Behind has its moments, but too much filler.

    I haven’t been inspired to buy any of the others.

    I predict that Rolling Stone gives the new U2 album four stars.

  2. Holy fuck, I underestimated even Rolling Stone’s ability to drop to their knees before U2.

    Five stars. I’m not joking.

    http://www.rollingstone.com/reviews/album/26079033/review/26212378/no_line_on_the_horizon

    I’m sure there’s some good stuff on it, as even the weakest U2 albums have some good stuff, but I refuse to believe that any album with this song as a lead-off single deserves five stars.

    I remember when getting five stars from Rolling Stone meant something. That was a long time ago.

  3. Jason Austinite says:

    Maybe it was opposite day?

