The Song That’s Been Stuck in My Head All Day: Christmas Edition

"I Want an Alien for Christmas" by Fountains of Wayne

“I Want an Alien for Christmas” by Fountains of Wayne.

According to the liner notes:

Our friend Steve Greenberg was working with Hanson, who were making a Christmas album. I gave a demo of this song to him to pass along. They didn’t use it, so we recorded it ourselves on a day off in Liverpool.  I am surprised they even let you record novelty Christmas songs like this in Liverpool.  Alarmingly, it became our highest charting single in the UK up to that point.

All YouTube has is a fan video with footage of the new Dr. Who show.  Don’t let the video distract you, unless you’re into the new Dr. Who.

Now I have “Everybody Knows the Claus” by Hanson stuck in my head, too.  I think I’ll save that one for next year.  Merry Christmas!

One Response to The Song That’s Been Stuck in My Head All Day: Christmas Edition

  1. Alex LaPointe says:

    I wrote a horrible rap song about the Richard Petty tree ornament you gave me several years ago.

    It’s Christmas morne and what did I see?
    It’s fuckin’ Richard Petty staring at me
    I said yo muther fuck, why do you be frontin,
    he said just wait for next year, when I’m carved all up in yo pumpkin.

    Up on da tree!
    He’s a pimp wit hat,
    Up on da tree!
    betta git my gat

    that’s as far as i got before the boooz took over

    Merry X MAS

    DAWG!!!!!

