Album Review: The Raveonettes – Lust Lust Lust

I have no problem at all with the Raveonettes’ unashamed worship of the Jesus & Mary Chain–I love that sound.

But, as with the Jesus & Mary Chain, the distorted sonic gauze can cause songs to blend together and not really register.  Ordinarily, I’d complain about that.  In the case of Lust Lust Lust, I don’t know that I’d want it any other way.  While it takes some listens for the songs to distinguish themselves from one another, the album rewards the effort.

With an exercise in atmosphere like this, singling out individual songs for praise almost seems beside the point, but if you like the single “Dead Sound,” you’ll probably like the whole thing.  And I would be remiss if I didn’t highlight the absolutely lovely “Blush”–it’s like the best of the alt-rock girl bands of the early-to-mid nineties, only with the guy singing lots of it, loads of fuzz, and music that sounds innocent even if the lyrics (which you can barely hear anyway) don’t.  Wonderful.

The Raveonettes seem to be tipping their hat to their primary influence with songs titled “You Want the Candy” and “Honey, I Never Had You.”   Good of them to respect their elders and all, and “Honey” is an excellent choice for a closer.

Really, there’s not a bad moment on Lust Lust Lust, and though it won’t change your life, it is quite enjoyable.

Three and a Half Stars

“Dead Sound”:

“You Want the Candy”:

Comments are closed.

