“The Last Game of the Season (A Blind Man in the Bleachers)” by David Geddes

I know that you all enjoyed my post on David Geddes’ teenage death song hit, “Run Joey Run.”  I mean, really, who wouldn’t?

Well, David Geddes was not a one-hit wonder.  He was a two-hit wonder.

His follow-up, “The Last Game of the Season (A Blind Man in the Bleachers)” isn’t a teenage death song, but it’s almost as awesome.

So there’s this blind old man who goes to high school football games and sits where he can hear the announcers on the PA.  He’s listening for his son’s name.  However, his son’s a bench-warming scrub, so it never happens.

The last game of the season, the old man doesn’t show up.  The scrub keeps looking at where he usually sits, and the geezer just isn’t there.

At halftime, the scrub has to leave the locker room to take a phone call.  No one even notices that he’s gone.  But when he gets back to the sideline after the second half has started, the coach is screaming for him to go in because the people ahead of him in the lineup are all gimped up.

So of course he goes in and kicks mucho ass, and the team mounts a comeback win.

Then the coach comes up to him and says something to the effect of, “What inspired a scrub like you to kick so much ass?”

The reply?

“You knew my dad was blind,” he said,
“Tonight he passed away.
“It’s the first time that my father’s seen me play!”

Are you bawling yet?  I bet you are.  Well, if my mere description made you bawl, just wait until you hear the actual song.  Grab a hanky!

They should have made a TV movie out of this.  Hell, it was the ’70s so they probably did.

Alas, only two hits for David Geddes.  Apparently, even the ’70s needed only one Meat Loaf.

2 Responses to “The Last Game of the Season (A Blind Man in the Bleachers)” by David Geddes

  1. torgman says:

    “Are you balling yet?”

    No, but I’m sure I’ll be doing that when my wife and I get home. I am, however, bawling :D

