Thanksgiving 2008: “Now Be Thankful” by Fairport Convention

I hope this Thanksgiving finds you well, surrounded by your loved ones.

I have a little tradition of listening to this song every Thanksgiving.  While it’s not specifically about the holiday, I think it conveys the spirit better than any other song I know.  It’s a wonderful, absolutely lovely song, and I hope it brings you as much joy as it has brought me since I stumbled across it many years ago.

Incidentally, the reason the B-side on the single’s sleeve is titled “Guiness Book of Records” is because the  B-side’s actual title is “Sir B. McKenzie’s Daughter’s Lament For The 77th Mounted Lancer’s Retreat From The Straits Of Loch Knombe, In The Year Of Our Lord 1727, On The Occasion Of The Announcement Of Her Marriage To The Laird Of Kinleakie,” and was named as such in an attempt to get it listed as longest song title in the aforementioned book.  Seems kind of gimmicky for a band with Richard Thompson in it.  I don’t know if the attempt was successful or not.  Maybe I’ll track the song down someday–I have to admit, my interest is piqued.  I’m a sucker for oddball stuff like that.

One Response to Thanksgiving 2008: “Now Be Thankful” by Fairport Convention

  1. Jason Austinite says:

    I suppose it goes without saying that this is much better than the Adam Sandler song.

