The Ongoing Struggle…

One of my Sunday morning pleasures that I am treated to every weekend (sarcasm set to HIGH) is the Country Top 40 Countdown.  Through no fault of my own, I am forced to listen to this junk every Sunday since my significant other likes to play it while preparing and drinking her morning coffee.  And she wonders why I’m in such a foul mood in the mornings…

Kid Rock’s country/rock/rip-off/abortion “All Summer Long” has become a mainstay on this countdown, and I swear I want to murder someone every time I hear him rhyme the word “things” with the somewhat similar word “things.”  But that’s not even the worst of it.  Kid Rock can create all the Warren Zevon/Lynyrd Skynyrd Frankenstein hybrids that he likes as long as I never have to hear one song that I was exposed to today on what was otherwise a beautiful Sunday morning.

The song I speak of is by an artist named Justin Moore, and it reminds me of everything I hate about modern country music, farming metaphors, and Sunday mornings.  The title of the song is “Back That Thing Up,” a devilishly funny and clever (sarcasm still set to HIGH) take on rapper Juvenile’s “Back That Ass Up.”  However, where Juvenile’s song was a straight forward attempt to get a woman to put her butt in his face, Justin Moore apparently wants to clean his song up a little bit and make it about a girl learning to drive a truck on a farm.  But the innuendos abound.

My personal favorite of the bunch:  “Back that thing up/Throw it in reverse, let daddy load it up.”  There those country music artists go again, trying to take a thing as filthy and immoral as anal sex and disguising it as an innocent instructional video on how to handle a piece of farming equipment.  Makes me long for the days of David Allan Coe (link is NSFW).

Seriously, this has to be one of the worst songs ever.

3 Responses to The Ongoing Struggle…

  1. I really have tried hard, but you beat me hands down. That is the worst thing ever posted on this blog.

  2. Alex LaPointe says:

    You’s a big fine woman won’t you back that thang up. You’s a fine mutha fucka won’t ya back that thang up.

  3. […] in November, Jason wrote the following about this […]

