“I Was a Teenage Zombie” by the Fleshtones

With this following on the heels of my “Die Hard” post, one could assume that today is ultra-catchy song day.

One would be wrong.

One could also assume that today is novelty song day.  One would be wrong on that count as well.

Instead, this is the official launch of another theme week! Halloween is a week from today, so let’s see what cool stuff we can dig up (no lame Halloween pun intended).

This is “I Was a Teenage Zombie” by the Fleshtones.  It was in an ’80s movie of the same name that I’ve never seen.  I taped the soundtrack from a friend’s LP back then.  I seem to remember it being pretty good, but this is the only song I recall other than “I Know What Boys Like” by the Waitresses, which was not original to the soundtrack.  It had a bunch of hip ’80s bands on it like the Violent Femmes and the Smithereens.

Unfortunately, the quality of this video is horrible.  Hopefully it’s enough to make the point to those of you who don’t know the song already.

If anyone knows where a better quality version of this is, please let me know.  If it’s not out there somewhere, I may have to track down the song and make a crappy slide show video for it.  It wouldn’t be in time for Halloween, though, so this will have to do for now.

Comments are closed.

