Old Music: Andrew Bird – “Imitosis”

I know that Andrew Bird’s amazing song “Imitosis” is nowhere near new.  I’ve been enjoying it since the 2007 release of his album Armchair Apocrypha.  However, the song has stuck with me like an old injury, one that just randomly pops in my head on occasion, perhaps to let me know when it’s going to rain, or perhaps to just give me a dose of the sexiest fucking song to be released in the last several years.  I come back to this song like an old lover, and it welcomes me back into its arms each time, seducing me with its Latin swing and delicate glockenspiel fills.

I’m a dork, and I love it.  What makes you happy?

One Response to Old Music: Andrew Bird – “Imitosis”

  1. Jill says:

    Oh my gobb.
    I’ve been in love with “Plasticities” since I first heard it.

    The remix came preloaded on my Zune and everytime I hear it I feel high-spirited and positive. The downside of loving that song is that I haven’t really listened to the rest of the album. I’ll put it on starting with “Imitosis,” but once I get to “Plasticities” I just hit repeat and I’m lost.

