The Great Paul Newman Has Left Us

There will be hundreds, if not thousands, of obituaries and tributes written over the course of the next week, all of which will likely do a better job than I can, so I’m not even going to try.

My favorite Paul Newman moment is in The Hustler, where he declares, “The pool game is not over until Minnesota Fats says it’s over.”  I love that line.  A victory in battle does not mean victory in the war.

Paul Newman lost the battle against death, as we all will.  But he won the war against mortality.

Actor, Oscar winner, veteran, race car driver, entrepreneur, humanitarian, father, faithful husband for fifty years.  Legend.  Rest in peace.

I couldn’t find a clip with my favorite line, but this one will do just fine.

One Response to The Great Paul Newman Has Left Us

  1. Jason Austinite says:

    “Plastic Jesus” from Cool Hand Luke

