Star Trek – 2009

Star Trek 2009 directed by J.J. Abrams

There’s scant info scattered about the web due to director J.J. Abrams extraordinary secrecy. I tried to compile some of it here. So sit back, grab some Romulan ale and git yer nerd on!

Star Trek – May 2009 chronicles the early, post Star Fleet academy, pre-Star Trek The Original Series adventures of the iconic crew of the Star Ship Enterprise. Directed by J.J. Abrahms (Lost, Cloverfield, Fringe)

With a cast of relative silver screen newbies. The exception being Winona Ryder who plays Spock’s Human mother, a role played on television and in films by Jane Wyatt. Many of these actors don’t ring a bell so I’ll list the Enterprise crew members with the actors playing them as well as some films/TV you might have seen them in. Then I have photo that shows the new actors juxtaposed with the old. I’ll quiz you on this tomorrow so take good notes.


James Tiberius Kirk
– Played by American actor Chris Pine (was in a bunch of shitty romantic comedies like The Princess Diaries 2, however his television appearances include some quality stuff such as CSI and Six Feet Under).

Mr. Spock
– Played by American actor Zachary Quinto (Best known as the villan “Sylar” from NBC’s Heroes, he already has the eyebrows going for him)

Montgomery Scott aka “Scotty” – Played by British actor Simon Pegg (star of Sean of the Dead, Superfuzz, and The Office -UK)

Dr. Leonard McCoy aka “Bones” – Played by New Zealand actor Karl Urban (Chronicles of Riddick In The Lord of the Rings trilogy, he played Eomer of Rohan. He also appeared in The Bourne Supremecy) He reminds me of young David Gilmore for some reason.

Hikaru Sulu – Played by Korean American actor John Cho (co-starred as Harold from the stoner cult comedy Harold and Kumar go to White Castle)

Pavel Andreievich Chekov – Played by Russian born American actor Anton Yelchin (An up and coming young actor, I was really pleased by his performance as the young kidnap victim in Alpha Dog).

Lt. Uhura – Played by American actress Zoe Saldana (Queens New York native of Dominican and Puerto Rican descent, Zoe Saldana has several small roles in TV as well as Pirates of the Carribbean: At World’s End and Drumline plus she’s freaking hot).

The original series cast and their new Star Trek counterparts.

This was the poster featured at 2008 ComicCon in San Diego, California.

Update (GW): My thoughts here (plus a couple more in the comments).

5 Responses to Star Trek – 2009

  1. Mixed feelings. Uhura is just not supposed to be devastatingly hot. She’s the common sense voice of reason, and I love her for that. Making her sexy just doesn’t seem right.

    I also have a long-standing policy of avoiding non-Shatner Star Trek.

    That said, I’m pretty sure I’ll be there opening day. The flesh is weak.

  2. Alex LaPointe says:

    Dude, you should come up to Hollywood for the premier. You can dress as the half black and half white alien who meant to teach us a lesson about racism. I’ll dress as crippled Captain Pike. When they ask me if I want butter on my popcorn I’ll reply “beep”.

  3. I’m actually going to dress like Abraham Lincoln.

    As long as the holodeck doesn’t malfunction and spit out “Dr. Moriarty” we should be fine.

  4. JoeSchmoe says:

    “Uhura is just not supposed to be devastatingly hot”???

    Then how do you explain Nichelle Nichols?

    MMmmMMmmmmMmmmm … Nichelle Nichols … tiny miniskirt with constant “accidental” panty flashing … sexy smoldering voice …Long, strong legs … a sexy face with big brown eyes … form fitting little outfits … and also *stacked*! (I mean, like *BAM* *POW* that’s woman is stacked!)


    (Filming this scene almost changed George Takei’s perspective on *everything* [but he snapped out of it, and I’m proud of him for going public])

  5. Well, you do have a point if that photo were the only evidence!

    That said, I always got a more wholesome vibe off her. Nichelle is very attractive but did not typically ooze sensuality. The difference between Mary Ann and Ginger, I suppose. I like Mary Ann better, and I like Uhura to be more like Mary Ann.

