Pink Floyd Co-Founder Richard Wright Dead at 65

News outlets are reporting that Pink Floyd member Richard Wright has passed away at the age of 65 after a battle with cancer.  Wright played piano, keyboards, and sang vocals on many tracks, as well as writing several songs for the band, most notably “The Great Gig In The Sky” and “Us And Them” from Dark Side Of The Moon

Floyd played a massive part in my musical upbringing, and while many dismissed them as nothing more than a drug band, they were extremely influential on modern music.  I like to think that old friends Richard and Syd Barrett are jamming in Heaven right now.  RIP, Mr. Wright!

Here’s a clip of my favorite Richard Wright vocal, “Echoes” from their 1972 film Pink Floyd: Live at Pompeii (backup harmony, but still awesome).  If you haven’t seen this film and are a Pink Floyd fan, go out and get the DVD.  Probably my favorite concert film, featuring several pre-DSOTM favorites performed live, as well as some clips of them recording DSOTM in the studio.

2 Responses to Pink Floyd Co-Founder Richard Wright Dead at 65

  1. Very sad. There was a period of my life where I pretty much listened to nothing but Pink Floyd, to the point where I overexposed myself to lots and lots of their music. The fault is all mine, not Pink Floyd’s. I haven’t listened to The Wall in a decade and a half, easy, but I bet I still know every word. I can still listen to Piper at the Gates of Dawn and Saucerful of Secrets, though, and I think I will this week. Rest in peace.

  2. chromedreamer says:

    Man I’m feelin’ so blank & soooooooo old……

