What?: “Yes We Can” by Boy George

OK, I thought my post on presidential primary campaign songs was pretty good, if I do say so myself.

I liked it enough that I was considering doing a sequel at the end of the general election cycle, to be published on or around election day.

But this one broke me.  The plan is off.  I can’t take it anymore.

I’ve got nothing against Boy George.  To be honest, the only song I know from his solo career is his excellent cover of “The Crying Game,” but there are several Culture Club songs I think are quite good.  This song, however, is terrible.  I can’t even tell what the song is about, unless it’s about Barack Obama being God.  Oh, yeah, that’s exactly the message his campaign wants being sent right about now!

The animator obviously has some talent.  But this is just creepy–I don’t think disturbing Boy George and Obama heads floating around are going to inspire people to knock on doors, man the phone banks, or vote, unless they inspire them to do those things for John McCain.

And isn’t Boy George British?  What mean “We,” Limey?

Via Dirty Harry, who quite sensibly asks, “What the hell is that circus clown doing at 2:23?”

3 Responses to What?: “Yes We Can” by Boy George

  1. Jill says:

    Did somebody slip me some LSD right before I pushed the play button?

  2. Jon says:

    I am familiar with quite a bit of George’s solo work and think he has written some great songs. I love the songs in his Broadway musical Taboo
    But I agree this song is terrible and the video even worse.
    I think George’s logic is only terrrible songs become hits so I will write a terrible song and maybe I can have a hit since all my good songs flopped. Maybe it wil work for him.

  3. […] killing us! Honestly, boss, I’m at wit’s end with these idiots.  Did you see that Boy George monstrosity?!?  Seriously, George, did you think you were doing us a freaking […]

