“Unforgiven” by Iron Horse

I mentioned this one in the comments thread on one of my “Snoop Dogg Does Bluegrass” posts, but since it was sometime back and in the comments, and our readership is much larger now, I think it deserves its own post during “country does non-country” theme week.

Bluegrass band Iron Horse did an entire album of Metallica covers.  As the AMG review attests, this doesn’t always work.  However, their take on “Unforgiven” is pretty neat–it gives it a real southern gothic sound and it’s the song I always return to on this album.  Check it out.

3 Responses to “Unforgiven” by Iron Horse

  1. Alex LaPointe says:

    That’s creepy. I’ve been playing that song in bluegrass style since 1998 almost identically. The chords, Am, Em, G, and D are classic bluegrass/Celtic and Gaelic folk chords so it lends itself perfectly to the bluegrass style. Just speed it up a little and it sounds like it was written by Doc Watson.

  2. Jason Austinite says:

    I couldn’t find it anywhere and desperately wanted to share, so I created a YouTube video for Iron Horse’s cover of “Fire On The Mountain” by The Marshall Tucker Band. Love this song.

  3. Jason Austinite says:

    Oops, let’s try that again:

