Two Tons of Steel – “I Wanna Be Sedated”

Driving home this evening from dinner, I was once again subjected to the fiancee’s preference of country music.  Whereas last week I was treated to a great song by the Randy Rogers Band, this week I heard perhaps one the biggest musical travesties I have ever witnessed.  Again, the radio was tuned to 98.1 KVET, and they have a Texas country show on Sunday nights.  There were several forgettable songs that passed on my long drive out to my home, but one caught my ear immediately, and I had simultaneous urges to both vomit and choke someone to death.  Neither were viable options, so I had to instead just grit my teeth and bear witness to this abomination, the ugliest attempt at a genre crossover I have ever heard. 

The band is called Two Tons of Steel, and they hail from San Antonio.  For some reason, someone thought it would be a good idea for them to perform and record a country version of the Ramones’ “I Wanna Be Sedated.”  Believe me when I tell you that absolutely nothing about this song works on any level.  It’s not funny, it’s not “cute”, and it’s certainly not good.  The studio version can be listened to on their MySpace page, and I found a live video of the performance posted below.  All I can say is, ouch!  Make it stop!

Comments are closed.

