Theme Week!

In honor of Jason’s last post (“This tastes like bottled ass! Try some!”) I am declaring our first-ever theme week.  This week’s theme, inspired by Jason, is country versions of non-country songs.

Next week is the opposite. Bloggers, start your engines.

My entry is “I See a Darkness,” by Johnny Cash

Well I hope that someday, buddy, we have peace in our lives
Together or apart, alone or with our wives
And we can stop our whoring
And pull the smiles inside
And light it up forever
And never go to sleep
My best unbeaten brother
This isn’t all I seek.

It’s originally by Will Oldham, AKA Bonny Prince Billy, AKA lots of other things.  I bought a Palace Brothers album once (one of his nom de rocks), and it was mediocre.  I haven’t gone back to the well since, but this song is brilliant.  Perhaps a second chance is called for?

Multiple entries are encouraged.  I can’t post “Hard Luck Woman” by Garth Brooks because both Garth and Kiss would sue me until the cows come home, but I intend to submit something else once the right idea occurs to me.

Comments are closed.

