LeRoi Moore of Dave Matthews Band Dead at 46

I have my gripes with Dave Matthews and his band.  It could be argued (and it has, by me) that the band has basically been making the same album over and over again since 1993.  It could also be argued that they have failed to adapt and evolve in any recognizable fashion, instead remaining comfortable and non-threatening to their core audience of women around the ages of twenty five to thirty five.  But these are not arguments that I care to make today.

There was a time, believe it or not, when Dave Matthews and his group played a heavy part in soundtracking my youth, along with other bands that I have since outgrown such as Phish and the Grateful Dead.  One of the most entertaining concerts I have ever attended was the 1996 H.O.R.D.E Festival in Austin, featuring a then orgasm-inspiring lineup (I was seventeen years old and much quicker to reach musical climax at the time) of Rusted Root, Lenny Kravitz, Blues Traveler, and the Dave Matthews Band.  For three subsequent years, I would return to Austin from my university to attend each Dave Matthews Band show at  the much lamented Southpark Meadows, and I would have a good time at all of them before my musical tastes began their radical shift towards more challenging and forward thinking artists.

News came today that LeRoi Moore, founding member  and saxophonist of the Dave Matthews Band, has passed away at the age of 46 following complications related to an ATV accident on his farm in June.  Besides currently living with one of the aforementioned females from the ages of twenty five to thirty five who loves DMB more than any other band on the planet, I still hold a fondness in my heart for the band that supplied so much of the background music to my formative years as a young adult.   While I may have lost my taste for their music in the past several years, I still acknowledge what a changing force they were in popular music in the mid to late 90’s (for better or for worse), and they provided me with many happy memories that still come to mind when I hear LeRoi Moore’s sax blaring from the radio.

RIP, LeRoi.  Thanks for the memories!

2 Responses to LeRoi Moore of Dave Matthews Band Dead at 46

  1. Brent says:

    My prayers go out to his family and friends and to all the members of DMB.

    My Tribute to LeRoi Moore – http://www.redux.com/playlist/dave_matthews_band_leroi_moore_tribute

  2. sunburnfreezerburn says:

    This is just so sad. Heard about this the other day…

    Rest high above the clouds no restrictions

