Neil Young Drives Me Nuts

I did an earlier post about my frustration that the first volume of Neil Young’s Archives, was only going to be released as a box of ten Blu-ray discs. Thankfully, someone talked some sense into the man–it will come out on CD and DVD as well.

Now, if I can swing the Blu-ray, I will. But it’s nice to have options.

So that’s the good news. The bad news is, the first volume is a bunch of live recordings.

Why, Neil, why? There are already about 50,000 authorized Neil Young live recordings, and another 86,000 easily-acquired bootlegs. He is competing with the Grateful Dead at this point. Does the world really need more Neil Young live material?

What I want is songs I haven’t heard before, which is how this project was announced way back when and what everyone thought it was until recently. Supposedly, that’s coming, but when? Another ten years?

On the possible good news front, a small item in the Guardian from a few months back mentions that work is being done on a never-released album with Crazy Horse, recorded in 2000, called Toast.

According to the Neil Young Web site, “[t]his first ‘Special Edition’ is the beginning of a new series of unreleased albums.” Neil is legendary for unreleased albums–Homegrown, Chrome Dreams, and Times Square are only the best-known. This is great news. So long as I don’t have to wait until 2018 to buy them.

Video: This is the kind of stuff I want–“I Wonder” by the Squires. Fans of Neil Young will immediately notice that this was reworked into the great “Don’t Cry No Tears,” from Zuma.

Here’s a short promo video for the box set. Release date is November 3rd. Time to start saving my pennies.

One Response to Neil Young Drives Me Nuts

  1. Alex LaPointe says:

    Speaking of getting pissed off by Neil Young. The first time I was able to see Neil Young and Crazy Horse together was during the…ugh…Greendale tour at the Hollywood Bowl. He played that whole shitty album then encored with “Powderfinger”. “Whoop-de-doo, thanks Neil!” I was all jacked up on cheap wine and started bitching about the show and these two old hippies started yelling at me and lectured me on how Greendale was going to change the world. I kept fucking with them by saying “Green Day will save the world, why do you keep talking about Green Day??” My vegan girlfriend dumped me a week later. Bitch. Wow that felt good! I’m going to do all my emotional venting as comments on Gordon Winslow’s blog entries. My therapist can kiss my ASS.

