Ludo – “Love Me Dead”

I was changing CDs in my car the other day because I have not yet spent the money on an iPod compatible stereo deck, and my radio was tuned to 101X, a local rock station that mostly plays music I hate.  As I was fumbling with my CD case, I heard some guy sing something about “fingerbangin’ my heart.”  I thought, “Did he really just sing that?”  Sure enough, he did.

I listened to the rest of the song, and I don’t know exactly how to feel about it.  On the one hand, it sounds a lot like some Harvey Danger/Eve 6/Ugly Kid Joe hybrid of sucktasticness, but on the other hand, it’s a peppy, energetic, and humorous little song.  I had no idea who the artist was, and I made a mental note to search the intarwebs to figure it out.  Apparently that mental note was misplaced for some time, but it popped in my head this afternoon.  I searched for “fingerbangin’ my heart,” and the result was a band called Ludo and their song “Love Me Dead”.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I am in no way endorsing this song or this band, because I think I am probably about 15 years too old to really have any true appreciation for their aesthetic, but I thought I’d link it here just for the hell of it.  I could totally see myself at 15 or 16 years old thinking this was the greatest band ever, only to grow up one day and think, “Fuck, I actually listened to Bush?  I mean, Ludo?”

The video is kinda fun, though.  Also, they are named after that yeti Muppet character in Gordon’s favorite film of all time, Labyrinth.  How bad could they be?

One Response to Ludo – “Love Me Dead”

  1. […] I started reading this post and saw your quote about “Fingerbangin’ My Heart,” I thought you were working […]

