Teaming Up With Mr. T!

As you, dear reader, are most likely an American, you may have missed this controversy. A British TV ad featuring Mr. T shilling for Snickers candy bars was pulled from the air due to complaints from American activists that it is anti-gay. I report, you decide.

Is it just me, or did that borrow just a bit from “Macho Man” Randy Savage?

Mr. T defends himself against charges of bigotry on the O’Reilly Factor. I had the same reaction as blogger Allahpundit (who pointed me to the ad): “I kept a straight face until the part where he explained the meaning of the phrase ‘get some nuts,’ whereupon all composure was promptly lost.”

“I’m not a predator!”

Perhaps he should have stuck to endorsing breakfast cereal.

Decades later, I still remember that jingle. Ah, the power of advertising.

I’m quite confident that the intro to Mr. T’s cartoon show has never been accused of being anti-gay.

Why do I have the feeling this song is going to appear in a Quentin Tarantino movie at some point?

Now that I think about it, Mr. T will probably appear himself.

One Response to Teaming Up With Mr. T!

  1. Alex LaPointe says:

    When I was 8 my mom bought me some Mr. T cereal but it cut the roof of my mouth. I wrote to Mr. T to ask him why and he called me a “pussy” and said I was a “crow eatin”‘ “jive ass mutha” and that the roof of my mouth was a “sucka” that went “out like a bitch’.

