C’mon Get Depressed

I guess it’s passe to note that Rolling Stone might not be cool, but as G.O.B. Bluth would say, COME ON!!!

I had a vague idea that The Jonas Brothers were one of those tween sensation things that happens for some reason, but I wasn’t happy to find them on the cover of RS this month.

I didn’t really know who they were and have never heard their “music” as they refer to it. But now you have!

I don’t really see the wisdom in their being on the cover. Are there thirteen year old girls out there who are going to buy the mag now because of the dreamy cover shoot? And the answer comes back to me…probably.

It’s kind of freaking me out that I have a subscription to this magazine. What? I read it for the articles.

–MattMcK

3 Responses to C’mon Get Depressed

  1. Jason Austinite says:

    That song is in desperate need of some Snoop Dogg!

    And your Rolling Stone subscription is in desperate need of cancellation.

  2. Jill says:

    Oh dear. Jonas Brothers even wormed their way into ODE.

  3. One of the reasons I started this blog was to provide a forum for my friends and I to clue each other in on music we hadn’t heard before. This isn’t exactly what I had in mind…

    That said, this probably doesn’t offend me nearly as much as it offends the rest of the staff and our entire readership. I’ve never hidden my affection for catchy, sugary, three-minute pop songs, and I didn’t think this was all that bad (the video, on the other hand…). It’s no Hanson, but it might be Josie and the Pussycats.

    At least three of our writers (Jason, Matt, and me) could likely write lengthy essays on the decline of Rolling Stone. I let my subscription lapse about six years ago, after subscribing for well over a decade. The last straw was when they decided to try to compete with Maxim. The decline was well under way by then, though. They had two great political writers, William Greider on the left and PJ O’Rourke on the right, who were long gone, in exchange for inferior writers on the left, and no one on the right. Most of their great music writers were gone, too. Off of the top of my head, the only decent people left were movie critic Peter Travers, who can be frustrating but is often interesting, and music critic Rob Sheffield. And I don’t think Rob Sheffield’s around anymore either (I still read the reviews online).

