Plastic Man

Apparently today is super hero day, as this immediately follows my Batman post.

Fresh off of their success with Speed Racer, the Wachowski brothers are reported to have the brilliant idea of casting Keanu Reeves as Plastic Man. If you’re not familiar with Plastic Man, trust me that this is an incredibly stupid casting choice. Plastic Man is funny. Keanu is not, except unintentionally. Jim Carrey could be Plastic Man. Keanu cannot, and I doubt this project ever gets off the ground.

This stupid news inspired me to create my first ever YouTube video, for “How I Wrote ‘Elastic Man'” by The Fall. I swear Mark E. Smith sings “Plastic Man” instead of “Elastic Man,” and since there is no Elastic Man that I am aware of, Plastic Man will have to do. Enjoy.

(Believe it or not, there’s a blog devoted to Plastic Man. I swiped some images from there, so credit is due. Story link via Dirty Harry, where the commenters also suggest Bruce Campbell for the part. That would be sweet.)

5 Responses to Plastic Man

  1. Rick says:

    What do you mean believe it or not? :) Just kidding! Thanks for the link.

  2. Jason Austinite says:

    The First Law of Internet Fandom: In the history of the internet, whenever any geek movie (comic book movie, slasher film, fantasy flick, etc.) is rumored to be in the works, someone somewhere on some website will always recommend Bruce Campbell for a role.

    I think Einstein came up with that theory. Right after Al Gore invented the intarwebs.

  3. jic says:

    Plastic Man is funny. Keanu is not, except unintentionally.

    As I said over at DH’s blog, Keanu was intentionally funny in movies where he played a slightly dim (or stoned) skater type. Whether that would work for Plastic Man is another matter.

    The First Law of Internet Fandom: In the history of the internet, whenever any geek movie (comic book movie, slasher film, fantasy flick, etc.) is rumored to be in the works, someone somewhere on some website will always recommend Bruce Campbell for a role.

    True, but Bruce actually would have been ideal for the role (he may be a bit old for it now), since he looks just like Plastic Man and is good at zany humor. It’s not like we are talking about recasting James Bond…

  4. Rick:

    I was delighted to find a Plastic Man blog! Just a bit surprised. When I was a kid in the late 70s-early 80s, I loved the cartoon show. Thanks for posting all of those great images and I hope you enjoyed my attempted video.

    Jason:

    While geeks certainly do love Bruce Campbell (and I include myself in that category), jic is right that Bruce Campbell would be perfect for both reasons mentioned–he is good at that sort of humor and he really does look like Plastic Man.

    Too old? Nah…make-up can do wonders, plus he gets to wear sunglasses. A much better idea than Keanu, who as jic also points out, has only demonstrated that he can do comedy playing(?) a stoner.

    Save Plastic Man!

  5. Rick says:

    I kind of figured that you were just surprised. I sometimes have an odd sense of humor. Maybe that is why I like Plastic Man. Bruce Campbell as Plas would be good casting. I have heard that he is a comic book fan so he might want to do it. He has had parts in all 3 Spider-Man movies.

