Brother Metal

At first glance, Cesare Bonizzi looks like the archetypal Capuchin monk – round-faced, stout, with twinkling eyes and a long flowing white beard. But beneath his robes beats a heart of metal.

Brother Cesare is the lead singer in a heavy metal band which has just released its second album.

* * *

The 62-year-old monk’s love affair with heavy metal began when he attended a Metallica concert some 15 years ago.

“I was overwhelmed and amazed by the sheer energy of it” he says.

I can’t embed the video (Flash, WordPress, blah) but after that awesome teaser, I know you’ll click here. The volume on the BBC’s Flash player goes up to eleven.

Update: Here we go.

Vodpod videos no longer available.

(Via Hot Air)

3 Responses to Brother Metal

  1. Jason Austinite says:

    Nothing more pleasing than watching old dudes rock for the Lord. And here I was thinking Satan had the heavy metal market cornered,

    That was a joke. Please save your clips of Stryper and other such Christian rock bands.

    Although in my exhaustive intarweb research for this comment, I have discovered that there is a “Christian metalcore” band called The Devil Wears Prada. I’m trying to figure out how the whole Christian part figures into their music, because they have song titles such as “HTML Rulez d00d” and “SpongeBob GrindPants.” Perhaps, somewhere in between the unintelligible screaming, they are saying “My heart was p0wn3d by Jesus.”

  2. If you think I’m not going to post some Stryper at some point in the history of this blog, you are sadly mistaken, my friend.

    (Wow, that song you linked actually wasn’t bad!)

  3. Jason Austinite says:

    I guess the song titles probably have nothing to do with the actual message of the song. I can’t understand what they’re singing about, but the video is pretty clearly about Jesus.

    I think the song sounds pretty good, although it’s not really my cup of tea. Seems interesting by some of the comments on youtube that maybe some people don’t get what this band is all about:

    “I saw this on headbangers ball.
    It said like undisclosed or something for the artist and song.
    Then when I saw the Band I started screaming “OMG! FUCKING DEVIL WEARS PRADA!!”
    ha.
    theyre fucking Stellar.”

