Exclusive Nick Cave Interview!

Oh, did you you think I meant exclusive to here? No, it’s exclusive to the Telegraph. It covers his workaholism and the glut of material he’s released in the past few years (albums, soundtracks, other stuff) and some upcoming projects–no new album is mentioned, but that’s to be expected as he’s recently released two (Dig, Lazarus, Dig!!! and Grinderman).

Fans will want to read the whole thing, but there were two items of particular interest to me. The first is that the interviewer believes that Cave is working on a new novel. I read his first (and so far only) novel, And the Ass Saw the Angel, almost a decade-and-a-half back and really liked it, but it was so long ago that I don’t know how reliable my memories or judgment are.

And then there’s this:

There have also been scores for a handful of stage productions and at least two (as yet) unproduced screenplays, his original Death of a Ladies’ Man and a stab at Gladiator II for Ridley Scott (rejected because it was too surreal).

Well, gee, Ridley, what did you expect?

I hated Gladiator, and a script by Nick Cave is just about the only thing that could have gotten my butt in a seat for Gladiator II. Of course, such a thing is obviously too awesome to ever actually happen.

“The Weeping Song”:

2 Responses to Exclusive Nick Cave Interview!

  1. umyeah says:

    That was pretty weak

  2. Would you have preferred it if I’d conducted the interview myself? Then it really would have been weak. Not as weak as spending your Friday night posting comments on a blog no one reads, but pretty weak.

