Dexter Holland, Renaissance Man

Dexter Holland, the lead singer of “The Offspring” and Huntington Beach resident is truly a “Renaissance Man”. Holding a Master’s degree in molecular biology from USC and on track for his PhD, Dexter Holland dropped out before completing his doctoral thesis to focus on music

These accomplishments pale in comparison to his greatest achievement, a really fucking good bottle of hot sauce! That’s right, Dexter Holland of “The Offspring” has come out with his own variety of hot sauce called “Gringo Bandito” and I must say, it is delicious. No, I’m being totally serious!

Now available at Albertson’s!!

Last fall, bottles of this mysterious elixir started showing up on the tables of my favorite eateries in Huntington Beach. The other day I saw it for sale at the local “Albertsons” and I knew, Dexter Holland had finally “made it” in the world of hot sauce. It truly is a really good hot sauce, it goes great on your huevos! While the latest craze in hot sauce has been trying to perfect the hottest sauce imaginable, Mr. Holland took a step back and decided to focus on flavor, not fire. Ask anyone who’s ever tried “Dave’s Total Insanity Hot Sauce” what it actually tastes like and all they can say is (to quote Ralph Wiggum: “…it tastes like burning!!” That’s not to say “Gringo Bandito” doesn’t have a kick to it, it’s just not super crazy-ass out of control hot. As Mr. Holland puts it himself on the label “I tried to make it easy on the pooper, too”. Just knowing the lead singer of “The Offspring” is looking out for my corn-hole, is enough to make me sleep easy in these uncertain times.

Update (GW): I’m excited to announce that Gringo Bandito is now the official hot sauce of On Deaf Ears!  A link to the Gringo Bandito site has been added to our sidebar in the “Friends” category.  We look forward to a long and spicy relationship.

Since many of our readers are in Texas, I should mention that Gringo Bandito can be found at Half Shells Oyster Bar & Grill in Dallas.  Readers in other areas can find a list of locations where it is available here.  If it is not yet available in your area, you can order online here.

3 Responses to Dexter Holland, Renaissance Man

  1. Jason Austinite says:

    I prefer this brand of hot sauce:

    http://hollywoodphony.wordpress.com/2006/05/02/abramowitz-co-launches-black-people-brand-hot-sauce/

    Although Dexter Holland is pretty fly for a white guy…

  2. When next we meet, bring me a few bottles. I know a few hot sauce fans here in Tejas who would be eager to try it. If he comps them, I’m not above making it the Official Hot Sauce of On Deaf Ears. I’m not selling out, I’m buying in!

  3. fishingfortacos says:

    Hey hey fellers,

    I actually work for Dexter and we’d love for you guys to make GB the official hot sauce.

    Why don’t you guys e-mail me at ese@gringobandito.com with your addresses and I’ll send some bottles to each of you.

    Folks in Austin, we’ll be seeing you at SXSW in March as well!

    Gracias,

    Ese

