Terence Trent D’Arby (revisited)

I was watching a blues band playing at “Perq’s” in downtown Huntington Beach over the weekend. They were a pretty good, slow hand blues, middle aged Black gentleman band doing obligatory Muddy Waters covers. After my third or eleventh margarita, I heard what sounded strangely familiar, could it be? I muscled my way through an army of sweaty surfers to the front just as they played the chorus “Wish my love a wishing well kiss and tell….” Holy Crap, they were covering “Wishing Well” by Terence Trent D’arby and not just covering it, but covering “the shit” out of it! it was an amazing, slow, blues cover that I might not even recognized had it not been for the tell tale lyrics. Later that night I had a chance to talk to one of the fellows in the band and asked him why they choose to cover “Wishing Well”. “I just always liked that song, and that guy [Terence Trent D’Arby] got a good “blues” voice” said the man who’s name I can’t remember from the band who’s named I never learned. Although I do remember hearing that they were from “Long Beach”.

-a

One Response to Terence Trent D’Arby (revisited)

  1. I’m a little surprised that no one has ruined “Sign Your Name,” one of the best soul songs of the 1980s, by doing an atrocious remake with a rap interlude. It seems like the time is ripe for someone to piss me off.

    I own his third album, The Hardline According To…. Maybe I’ll bust it out and write a review. It’s a good album, but pretentious as all hell.

