Album Review: Martha Wainwright – I Know You’re Married But I’ve Got Feelings Too

Martha Wainwright - I Know You\'re Married But I\'ve Got Feelings TooThere’s a sense of inevitability that permeates I Know You’re Married But I’ve Got Feelings Too, the new album from Matha Wainwright–a sense that no matter what, life is just going to suck sometimes, and that’s just life. It’s not quite resignation; more wistfulness. In “So Many Friends,” she expresses it most succintly:

I have lost so many friends
I have gained so many memories
I have lost so many friends
I have made so many enemies

So somewhere in the grand shuffle of life are some good times, even if they aren’t here right now. Presumably, there will be more of those fleeting moments. Just not today.

I Know You’re Married is lushly produced–on first listen it may sound overproduced, but after a few more the production sounds quite natural as a bed for the melodramatic material. It works particularly well on “You Cheated Me,” which somehow manages to be a gorgeous song about being betrayed by a lover.

At fourteen tracks–twelve originals and covers of the Barrett-era Pink Floyd song “See Emily Play” and the Eurythmics’ “Love is a Stranger”–I Know You’re Married is a bit too long–“The George Song” could have easily gone by the wayside, and one or two others are at best borderline. That’s a minor complaint in this era of 79-minute albums. Overall, a solid effort with some great moments, and likely to garner some attention.

For now, you can listen to the whole album at Martha’s official site, although I had trouble getting a couple of the tracks to work.

And here’s “You Cheated Me.” Video most assuredly not gorgeous:

Update: Oh, for the love of Mike! YouTube really sucks sometimes. I don’t know about your browser, but mine is telling me that the video is no longer available, despite the fact that I pulled it from the record label’s official YouTube page. Of course, it is still available. Here’s the exact same link without the embedded browser. This should work. The song is worth hearing, so click through.

Comments are closed.

