Re: Happy Birthday, Blues Man!

I’m not blues fan enough to know if it’s fair, but Willie Dixon was more highly regarded as a songwriter than he was as a performer. I have his Chess Box, and a large percentage of the tracks are other artists’ versions rather than Dixon’s.

I do know that no one will ever do Dixon’s “Spoonful” better than Howlin’ Wolf, and no one should even try. I like this song so much I felt that it deserved a separate post rather than just a link in the comments.

One Response to Re: Happy Birthday, Blues Man!

  1. Jason Austinite says:

    As long as we’re gettin’ all bluesy up in this piece, I thought I’d share a few links to some of my favorite bluies tunes by the old masters:

    “Hoochie Coochie Man” – Muddy Waters

    I’m not a huge fan of Santana, but I always loved this collaboration:

    John Lee Hooker – “Chill Out”

    Howlin’ Wolf – “Smokestack Lightnin'”

    Lightnin’ Hopkins – “Mojo Hand”

    Lead Belly- any song, but here are three tunes:

