Who are–King Khan & the Shrines?

The Supreme Genius of King Khan & the ShrinesI saw this in the new releases listing and was immediately intrigued by the awesome cover art–shades of Lee Marvin in Point Blank. I did a little digging, finding three MP3s online, two on their (lousy) official site, and one over at Pitchfork Media, where this record gets a good review.

Garage rock stuff, right up my alley when it’s good but tough to sustain for an entire record. After a couple of listens, I loved one song, liked another, and thought the third was mediocre.

Anyway, here are the fruits of my research:

Maybe my assessment will change after a few more spins.

Anyone know anything about these guys? At this point I won’t buy their record, but I bet they’re a hoot live.

4 Responses to Who are–King Khan & the Shrines?

  1. Jason says:

    I was actually going to do a review of this record. It’s basically a compilation of several of their previous releases. A good introduction to the band for the uninitiated, but I would recommend going out and picking up their 2007 release What Is?! instead.

    Basically, the vibe I get from them is the Black Lips without the ironic humor. Straight up Nuggets-style rock, with a little Motown flavor blended in.

  2. By all means, write it. I’m curious enough to buy a few MP3s at the very least. Just need to know which ones.

  3. Jason says:

    If you’re looking to buy some King Khan mp3s, here are my recommendations, aside from the ones you already found online:

    (How Can I Keep You) Outta Har

    I Wanna Be A Girl

    Land of the Freak

    69 Faces of Love

    Take a Little Bit

  4. normalnorman says:

    Not sure if this has been posted, but they’re playing at Mohawk on July 6th: http://www.mohawkaustin.com/events/

